Meja

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MEJA

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first visit to your forum and I'm hoping you may be able to help me out. I am a beginner and have only made 18 gal of Cherry wine. Now I am attempting to make Apricot wine using fruit I picked early this summer and stored in the freezer. 60 hours ago I put 25 lbs. of the thawed fruit in a sanitized fermenter along with 5 gal of fresh tap water. The temp of the fruit and water was about 66 degrees so I did not add any other ingredients or yeast because I wanted to let it warm up to about 75 degrees. Unfortunately I got called away so I put a lid on the fermenter and left it sitting in my workshop. This morning when I took the lid off I noticed that a cap of floating fruit had formed and it is lightly covered with a white looking mold and it smells like fermentation has begun on its own its temp is 76 degrees. I called a friend who has made a lot of wine and asked him if he had ever had this happen. He said that he had never let must sit that long before adding the yeast and other chemicals and he was worried that my batch may already be ruined. What do you think? Is the white mold that has started to grow on the top of my must a bad thing? Should I dump this batch and wait until next years apricots are available?

Nah - the yeast strain you will use will overcome the wild yeast.

No since it is fermenting - i am not 100% sure about adding in the k-meta and pectic now. You should wait 12-24 hours for each application.

Add K-meta wait 12-24 hours
Add pectic wait 12-24 hours
Add yeast

But like i said - not sure since it is already fermenting - lets see what some others offer.