Made a SpecGrav mistake, now need help.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johntodd

Maker of Fine Messes.
Reaction score
Hi! Thanks for stopping by. I'm not a total newbie, but I've only made batches of wine off-and-on over the last 20 years. I know the process and have never had a spoiled batch, yet, I am still a knucklehead on some things. Like this one:

My problem is this: I started a batch of cherry wine last Sunday. I read a Specific gravity of 2.0 and assumed all is well. However, after reviewing a tutorial here, I see that the SpecGrav is really 1.020. My bad.

Another problem is I do not know how much water is in the vat. My Father taught me winemaking and it was always the "use your judgement" approach. It's a regular tall food-grade plastic fermenter with a spigot on bottom and a screw-on gasket sealed cap with an airlock hole. It's mostly full of fluid. Fermentation seemed to be going OK. Frothy when stirring, etc.

This Sunday (June 9th) is when I've scheduled to rack it into the secondary.

So, what can I do? Shall I take some of the fluid and boil it on the stove to dissolve sugar, then pour it back in? How much sugar? Shall I do it today or wait until I rack it Sunday?

Thank you very much for your help. I'm anxious to save this batch, since the fruit is from our own farm. We grew the cherries ourselves, and this is the first harvest. Next year, the orchard will start producing! A fun time is guaranteed for all!

Thanks again!
-Johntodd

Yeah, I can help you out and so can others. First we need to determine the volume of wine. Then, we will determine how much sugar to add to it to hit a target sugar.

What is the SG now? I think you can easily add sugar to a specific gravity that you need to get the right alcohol.