Looks like fermentation is stuck, what do I do...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

domaso

Reaction score
Is the fermentation stuck? What do I do?

Hi,

To start I'm newbie here, but I'm not completely new to wine making, made a few pretty good batches last year, I'm always making wine from grapes and berries.

This question is about black currant wine. The starting SG was 1.115. After about 9 days I checked the SG and it was about ~1.040, today, (after 12 days in total) I checked again and it is still 1.038~1.039.
So, after 12 days in the cloth covered primary fermenter bucket I strained the must to a glass carboy and fit an airlock – no visible airlock activity... Shouldn't it bubble pretty fast with SG still at 1.040?

I'm suspecting one bad thing – there was a heat wave in my area the whole last week and the temperature was up to 93'F where the primary fermenter sat. I've just read the yeast packaging and it says: "Temperature range 57-90'F". Could it be that the yeast got overheated and killed? (I've read that the temperature of the must usually is even higher than ambient, so it could've been around 100'F..)

I now placed the carboy to 82'F area. What should I do - wait a day or two and see if there is some activity? Or should I buy another packet of the same yeast and re-pitch hoping it will kick start and eat the sugar that's left?

Last edited:
Also, if I try to re-pitch – could I use different red wine yeast? (I've just learned that the yeast I have used has been all sold out a few days ago...)
Any bad things when re-pitching with different yeast?

Yes, I would certainly repitch a new batch of yeast. I would probably make a starter.