Kit's VS home brew question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drainsurgeon

Reaction score
I'm making Dave's Dragon Blood and am close to first racking out of the primary. I've make kit's for years but this is my first attempt at a home brew. I'm currently reading Dave's VERY lengthy thread on DB (on post 400 something) and everyone suggests back sweetening and adding the sorbate and metabisulfite AFTER clearing. The kits have you adding all 3 at the same time as the chitosan in step 3. Just trying to understand the difference.

Also the temp in the primary keeps climbing. It started at 75 4 days ago and is up to 82 today. I know the yeast is partially to blame, but the house temp is about 78. It's bubling like crazy so I think its ok but not sure.

I also am thinking about returning the Sparkolloid and getting the Super Kleer everyone seems to like.

Advice please??

I've just bottled my first DB.

I followed his instruction to a T except for the fruit used. My frozen fruit mix had four fruits instead of three.

I would follow the instruction to a T (except the Sparkloid) since it's your first try and tweak on your second try. (You can't learn what your tweaks change if you don't first have a baseline to judge from)