I'm new to this and need help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fentos1303

Reaction score
Hi all, I recently brewed a home made 5 litre wine kit from wilkinsons and followed instructions and all went to plan, so now I have went for the 30 bottle 20 litre kit and tonight was the night to bottle (14 days later) I know seems short time but that is the instructions to follow, any the point is I opened my 23 litre fermenter and it's got little grey/black bits in and smallish looking mould clumps! This did not happen first time round when using demijohn! Is my wine up s#*t creek now or can this be normal and rescued? Plz comment back someone

Welcome to Wine Making Talk.

Wish I could help you directly but I'm new to this stuff. Can you upload a picture? Might help folks if they can see what you're talking about.

Welcome to WMT.

The instructions are nothing more than a guideline, really.
Hardly any batch of wine is ready to bottle in 14 days.
Think of some of it as Marketing. 14 days sounds great, but doesnt taste like it sounds.

It was clean juice prior to fermentation? Fermentation went fine? You racked to an airlocked vessel? (the 23 litre fermenter - bucket or carboy?) Alcohol fermentation has ceased, through Specific Gravity readings maintaing the same for 3 days or more, consecutively?

If those answers are 'yes' & 'carboy', then, did you add any K-Meta (Potassium Metabisulfite) when fermentation was finished?