Hydrometer question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikez104

Reaction score
Ok, this is my first attempt at wine. The guy I work with has been making it for several years and he gave me a bottle and I really liked it. He said that I could get some wine juice and do my own. Yesterday, I picked up some basics and today I picked up a 6 gallon bucket of Pinot Noir. I have my buddy's advice and what I have read on this forum as my only training.

On the bucket it gives directions of what to do. Step one, open it up, let it warm up to 76 and wait 7 to 10 days. I opened it and it is warming up. check.

I have read that i am to get a Specific Gravity reading at the begining so I used my EZ clean and cleaned my equipment and took some of the must out and measured it. I took a picture (I want to keep track of what I'm doing).

Problem #1 - I'm not sure how to read this thing. Here is a picture of what I got.

""http://flic.kr/p/8LJeZB""

Problem #2 - I took a few pictures of the bucket and went back and looked at the hydrometer again and now it's WAY different. What gives? Is it because it warmed up? I spun it like it said.

""http://flic.kr/p/8LMnmS""

Looks like I cant post pictures or links so please remove the quotes around the URLs to see the pictures. Any help or insight would be great. Thanks!

What is the name of the kit maker and the name of the kit?
You didn't mention adding yeast. did you?

Make sure your hydrometer is not clinging to the wall of the vessel it is in.
The hydrometer should be able to set in the liquid for days without it changing its reading, unless the liquid is fermenting toward dry, in which case it will read a lower SG every 12 hours or so.

There are how to topic under wine making. I would read these *** much as possible.

Good luck.