How do I reduce acid in red win with Baking Soda?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alet

Reaction score
Please can anyone help me out? I'm a beginner. How do I reduce the acid by using baking powder? I would appreciate your help - thank you!

What are you making and what is your recipe with sg and acid level.

And welcome to WineMakingTalk

Hello, Alet, and welcome to the forum.

Regarding your question, I am not familiar with using baking powder to reduce the acid in a wine. Baking powder is normally composed of Sodium Bicarbonate, Cream of Tartar and Cornstarch. I am not sure I would want to add the latter two to my wines. A reference I have (The Winemaker's Answer Book by Alison Crowe of Wine Maker magazine) suggests using Potassium Bicarbonate to accomplish this at the rate of 1 gram per liter of wine to reduce the TA by about 1 gram per liter. The directions are as follows: "Dissolve the powder directly into your wine and let settle for six to eight weeks as potassium and tartrate solids will precipitate out (solids settle best once fermentation is complete). Once you've achieved good settling, you can rack the de-acidified wine off the solids."

If you can get this compound, I suggest you try it with a small quantity of the wine to start. If you are pleased with the results, you can de-acidify the rest of your wine. Buona fortuna!

If you use it use baking soda not baking powder. i've used it and have had no problems yet but i'm just starting to learn about TA , and I may have just gotten lucky. if you use it I don't know the formula for it, if you use it be careful it will fizz as it reacts with the acid.

you might consider yeast selection ( 71b and maurvin b both reduce acid during ferment) , maloactic fermentation (reduces acidity) and lastly cold stabilisation to get acid down in a red wine.