Help What is this growth, should I be concerned?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buckhorn

Reaction score
I am a newbie - made a couple kits and now am striking out to try and learn more. Hopefully one of the experts on here will recognize what I am seeing and be able to tell me it's ok, help me fix it, or explain what is wrong so I can learn and start over.

I am trying a 1 Gal batch of Cranberry-Cutie Wine (Cranberry-Clementine). Things went pretty well through the primary, I racked to secondary and now I have a "growth" in the wine that I am not sure if I should be concerned with. I will try and answer all the basics up front, but if I miss something please ask me for what you need.....

All equipment was washed with PBW and sanitized with Star-San everytime I worked with the wine.

12/20/13 - boiled the sugar, cranberries and clementine peels, added wine chemicals per recipe
12/21/13 - added raisins, and 1/2 pkt of rehydrated Red Star Montrechet yeast. Starting SG was 1.094 Set lid loosly on top of primary, but did not snap shut
12/22/13 - SG: 1.091 stirred must, squeezed fruit bag
12/23/13 - SG: 1.091 stirred must, squeezed fruit bag
<<missed checking my SG for a couple days due to illness/holidays>>
12/27/13 - SG: 1.013 stirred must, squeezed fruit bag
12/29/13 - SG: 1.001 - discarded fruit bag. racked into 1 Gal jar. Added air lock.
12/30/13 - observed small spots of "oil slicks" on top of must in jug - could this be from orange peels/cranberries/??
1/1/13 - SG: .993 -- seeing a "growth" in top 1/3 of jug. I can see small bubbles rising to the surface from the edges of the mass like it may be fermenting.
1/4/13 - The growth is still in place - got a picture to post and ask for help...

Crancutie-growth_20140103.jpg

Unfortunately I have no idea but had to make a comment.