WineXpert help! watery wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mccollum_mac

Junior
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a total newbie.
I started with a "winexpert, island mist" kit, for my first because it's fast and a fail safe right?
Well not really.
So when I was on my 3rd step of adding all the rest of the ingredients and clearing additives I noticed it was at a very low level and so wanting to do the right way and have no head space, I added a bottle of white wine and like a half gallon of water, (I now know this was what did it.)
So now my wine is clear and ready to bottle but it tastes like water and only a hint of the pear/apricot.
When I test it, if I'm reading this right according to the chart it has a percent of 3.3 alcohol!
Is there any way to fix this?
Or is this my hard lesson?

You are probably reading the chart not quite right. Take your starting sg (I think the Island Mist kids are at about 1.050) subtract you ending sg, which was probably about 0.994. That's the number before you added the potassium metabisulphite and sorbate. Multiply by 133. That should give about 7.5% abv. I am guessing you are taking the current number, after you added the fpac, that doesn't matter, since alcoholic fermentation didn't happen in that part.

Well, I didn't test it before my first step. At my second step after adding the yeast it was 1.000.
It does say it should have started at 1.048-1.052.
Now that I'm all done clear and ready to bottle, it tests at 1.025.
During all the steps it smelt like wine with a tiny yeasty smell, I felt good. Now I know it's cause I added that water to top off.
At this point I don't care where it tests at with alcohol percent, I can taste it and its like water. I want to know if I can fix this or do I have a $65 dollar topper for the next batch.