Help, racking question

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

johneulene

Junior
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I am about to start my first batch of wine. Instructions say to rack a second time, I only have one 5 gal carboy. My question is can I transfer back into my primary fermenter long enough to to clean the carboy and get it ready again or do I need a second carboy?
 

rawlus

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
349
Reaction score
2
2nd carboy is ideal, but you can use the primary as a temp holding spot if you minimize splashing and O2 exposure as much as possible...
 

Wade E

Premium
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
33,224
Reaction score
277
Yep, just rack it to the bucket, clean your carboy and immediately rack back into carboy.
 

Tom

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
11,356
Reaction score
99
Hmm.. I see another carboy in your future...
 

Wade E

Premium
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
33,224
Reaction score
277
Tom!!!!!!!!!! Hes a new wine maker, I see at least 1/2 a dozen myself!!!!! :)
 

djrockinsteve

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
4,911
Reaction score
143
Yesterday I went in to the wine store for some bungs. Came out with another 3 gal. carboy. It just won't quit.
 

Runningwolf

Super Moderator
WMT Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
20,304
Reaction score
2,207
Welcome to the new obsession!
 

namratasnv

Junior
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Yep, just rack it to the bucket, clean your carboy and immediately rack back into carboy.
well, it is right way of doing it and it can be helpful and at the same time it is beneficial.

I do the same when I need to do it.

Thanks
 
Top