help on E.M. on Sangiovese grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rzuffi

Junior
Reaction score
hey guys, first post...thanks in advance for your input.

I've been making wine for a few years, mainly from fresh juice that I got from the local wine making shop. Has been coming out great for years and I decided to switch to crushing/pressing my own grapes last year. Its been fun so far.

Last year I made 100% Grenache, but it is too light and fruity for my liking, so I added brandy to it to try and convert it to a port, but came out horrible tasting. I'm still bottled it in hopes one day it might taste decent enough to drink It was only 6 gallons, so it doesn't bother me too much.

So this year I went with 100% Sangiovese grapes because I am a big Brunello fan and I've been successful making this from fresh juice in the past. Crushed and fermented in food grade buckets (primary) until dryness, but the color just wasn't there, so I started investigating extended maceration (which I heard was good for big reds).
I decided to go for broke and try EM. I do not have a CO2 regulator, so I can not pump in CO2. I currently keep a saran wrap directly over the must to seal out any O2, plus add another layer of saran wrap to the top of the bucket and use the sealed bucket top (with another layer of saran wrap on top).
I know that I should really use CO2, as recommended by most people for EM, but I have heard of others that have been successful without using CO2.

My questions are:
1. Has anyone else here been successful with EM without using CO2?
2. What are the early warning signs that tell me I have too much O2 entering the dry must/juice?

Thanks for your help.

Rob

Keep It Cool

I've not tried EM, but understand keeping it cool is important. Keep it punched down and over pump to reduce the risk of bacterial contamination.