Help! Not sure what to do here....

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lerxstrulz

Junior
Reaction score
Hi All,

This is my very first time making wine (making from a kit) and I am not sure what to do here...

It is day 7, my hydrometer BROKE so I made a homemade one, but I'm not confident it is working correctly. According to it, I am at 1.060 SG and I need to be at 1.010 or less. According to the instructions I should be racking at 5-7 days.

Primary fermentation has stopped as far as I can tell...the air lock is not bubbling and temperature on the fermenter has dropped to 75 F.

Going to try and get to a brewing store tomorrow and see if they have a Hydrometer, so I guess I have two questions:

1. IF the homemade hydrometer is right and I'm nowhere near where I need to be on SG, what do I do? Just wait? Add more yeast?

2. How long can I leave the must in primary fermentation without doing anything? I'm hoping the brew store has a hydrometer but if they don't and if I have to order one it will be at least 2-3 days before I get it.

Thanks in advance for your help!

- Brent

Step 1 - buy several hydrometers (well 2 or 3 at least) because they break easily. (BTW, clean and rinse in warm water NOT hot water. My hydrometers started lasting longer after I heard that tip.)

Step 2 - if your brew store doesn't sell hydrometers (temporarily OOS is OK but not good), then NEVER EVER go there again.

Step 3 - sounds to me like the wine is below 1.010 (based on visuals & temperature). HOWEVER, I don't trust visuals. Waiting another day or two should be fine, some kit brands call for a 14-day primary. Some people make kits without using hydrometers (although it wouldn't be my recommendation.)

Step 4 - a homemade hydrometer? if it turns out to be accurate, please publish your construction details.

Steve