Help needed : Read this if you need a laugh... - A torrid tale..

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ash

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here and currently in dire straits (Mellow dramatic? maybe..).

Around 11 months ago I moved into my new place which had an established grape vine. As I like to try new projects I decided to trymy hand at wine making..

..and so the story begins:

I picked the grapes, seperated out bad and good, pressed the good with a potato masher and at this point the recipe I had found called for water to be added to the jiuce - Note my first (of many) fatal errors - I didn't use the hydrometer before doing this, so my first reading (below) is diluted juice:

start_reading.jpg

Recipe was along the lines of:
1 campden per gallon
170gm suger per litre
24 hours later add yeast.

I left the skins in for a week to develop colour then strained through jelly bag, added campden per gallon.

Put in demijohn with airlock for 6 weeks, re-reacked 2/3 times over the course of the year.

And tonight arrived - The bottling ceremony!

Unfortunately in my haste / idiocy I may have destroyed the past years effort. :slp

So, I tasted the wine a few months back and it was decidely fizzy, I figured this was normal after a little reading and looked into de-gassing when bottling.

So I currently have 9 litres of wine and with this I have added campden tablets and stabilising powder:

0022657_l.jpg

Now it clearly states on the above, 1 teaspoon per gallon - So of course I read this as '1 teaspoon per litre'...

Likewise, Campden tablets; 1 tablet per gallon - Again I read this as above...