Green barrel schedule

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaniel

Reaction score
So I've lucked out and a beer making friend is willing to buy me a new 5gal barrel to age my wine in, so that he can subsequently age beer in the wine-conditioned barrel. Yay me!

I have no experience with barrels. With a new Hungarian barrel, how long should a medium-body (Marachel Foch) wine age? This particular vintage is also high in TA, long story but at this point I don't think there is anything to be done about it other than to handle future batches of high pH, high TA must differently from the get-go.

As far as high TA, this is the time of year to cold stabilize your wine. If you live in the north and your wine is still in a carboy put it outside in a shed or unheated garage for a month or so, this will drop the TA noticeably. No idea about the barrel other than for a new one I don't think the time inside will be long.

Spaniel:
There's another thread called "And then there were three" with the info you're looking for, but here's the short and skinny:

Paraphrasing comments from Boatboy24 and ibglowin, "A good time schedule for a new barrel, in weeks, is to age wines progressively longer as the barrel imparts less oak as it is used, 4-8-12-16-24 weeks. First wine for 4 weeks, second for 8 and so on. Of course, taste it along the way to get the oak to your liking. Watch your SO2 levels, they drop like a rock in a small barrel.

Barrel aging in small barrels, once your barrel is neutral, should be limited to 6 or 7 months total, as the micro oxygenation of your wine can lead to oxidation."

So I've lucked out and a beer making friend is willing to buy me a new 5gal barrel to age my wine in, so that he can subsequently age beer in the wine-conditioned barrel. Yay me!