Grandma's Wheat Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattsbrewery

Reaction score
My father has been nagging me to make this for a few years. Apparently, his mother made it almost every year. Here's the recipe he sent:

WHEAT WINE:

1 gal clean wheat
8 gal water
2 grapefruit (cut off ends of all fruit)
1 lemon
5 oranges
Grind all fruits
4 lbs raisins
2 pkg dry yeast
24 pounds of sugar

Place mixture in large container and cover. Can be kept at room temperature.

Let mixture stand 2 weeks, stir each day.
Bottle, let stand again until it clears to a golden color.

My main question here is: What does the wheat possibly contribute? Body? I'm also not sure what is meant by "Grind all fruits". I'm VERY new to the world of wine.

Some people here add dried malt extract (extra light as I recall) to some wines to add body so maybe the wheat would make the same contribution as you suggest

I have not tried a wheat wine, but it is made a lot in Wales. It makes a wine similar to a whiskey in color and taste. The wheat may add a bit of body but certainly will add carbohydrates to create alcohol. I would use a high alcohol tolerant yeast - that's a lot of sugar there between the wheat and the sugar! It is recommended to age 1-2 years before drinking.

it never ceases to amaze me what people use to make wines~! thats cool...this one kind of sounds like a beerwine or maybe a winebeer

Really I would think it is only wine. There is no malted grain in the recipe. I would love to try it. Please share photos and progress with us.