Gerber baby food wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineista

Reaction score
So I am still a newbie when in comes to wine making, but thought that this would be a great idea. People use fruit puree, which is exactly what baby food is with out additives. I priced fruit puree (49 oz about $20) versus baby food (62 oz about $5) and decided to go for it!

I used Gerber tropical fruit flavor, sugar, etc to SG 1.090

I just started a 1 gallon batch today so will update as I go along...

Last edited:
Definitely sounds interesting. Why not! Let us know how it turns out.

Very curious indeed!

What is the recipe that you used and did you use any preservatives? I have a TON of baby food left over from my daughter and this might be exactly what I'm looking for! (Especially since my family loves to make homemade wine - its almost like a competition!)

I don't want to use too many preservatives - hopefully just baby food, sugar, water, and yeast, but I'm new to this so I'm not quite sure what to do!

Hmmmmmmm, interesting! Definitely never thought about fermenting baby food!

My family might wonder what I am doing with a closet full of baby food.......... (I have no kids)

RE:

Very curious indeed!

What is the recipe that you used and did you use any preservatives? I have a TON of baby food left over from my daughter and this might be exactly what I'm looking for! (Especially since my family loves to make homemade wine - its almost like a competition!)

I don't want to use too many preservatives - hopefully just baby food, sugar, water, and yeast, but I'm new to this so I'm not quite sure what to do!

I am also very new to making wine, so I just make it up as I go along after doing some research online and figure I will learn by trial and error. This is what I have done so far:

1 gallon recipe: