Forgot Potassium Metabisulfate

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nursejohn

Reaction score
I have a question. I am new at home winemaking. I just recently bottled my first batch (White Zinfandel). A few days after bottling the wine, I realized that I forgot to add the 1/4 tsp of K+ Metabisulfate to my wine prior to bottling it. Will this harm my wine or cause any problems? Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, nursejohn.

i have minimal expertise, but about 10 years of kit making experience. i think the answer is probably not, but you will know when you drink it. perhaps a slightly effervescent sensation on drinking from malolactic in bottle fermantation? i'm sure the experts can give you more certain guidance. i would not worry about being poisoned. you might get vinegar. why not let us know what happens, as ijust did the same thing with a 5 gallon batch of chenin where i forgot the campden tablets, and i'm going to bottle as soon as it clears, which it sems to be doing nicely. i hate getting old and forgetful.too many "doh" moments.

my opinon:

no effort way -
drinking early will save the day...anything longer and you chance spoilage (but wine CAN last w/o protection - the odds favor spoilage however)

effort way -

de-cork, add appropriate amount and guarantee no spoilage

last year i did part of my wine without any protection and it was fine for the entire year that i expected it to last, but if i was considering aging at all then i would protect it

If you made it from a kit and followed their direction I would say you are OK. Reason is you probably added it just a few weeks prior to bottling.

Like what Al said ..DRINK IT..
smiley36.gif
smiley36.gif