First batch of wine, got a few questions.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevolution

Reaction score
I am new to the wine making world so I figured this was a good place to be. Me and my wife picked up our vintners best wine kit yesterday with a box of Island mist strawberry white merlot.. We started last night with cleaning all the equipment going to be used and sanitizing everything. Then mixed the needed ingredients, before adding the yeast we had a gravity of 1.050. Added yeast and air locked now just waiting..

First question. The guy that sold me the wine said that these kits can pretty much be drank straight after bottling. Is is true? Also I've been reading about people adding sugar ontop of the original ingredient .. Why is this done and is it neccarry? Also the instructions say to g straight from the primary fermentor to the carboy and that is where it will finish but im reading alot about people racking from primary to a carboy and then to another carboy. is this necessary or should I follow the instruction to a "T" I'm sure ill have more questions soon.. Thnx

Last edited:
Stevolution, Welcome to WMT. I would suggest To just follow the directions if they are your first kits. Also people add more sugar up front to increase the alcohol amoumt. Yuo can drink these kits right away. I' ve made the strawberry merlot before used it as a sangria base wasn't bad . Bakervinyard

Awesome thanks for the advice. I will be following the kit instructions then. I'm going to the shop Tuesday to pick up a degasser and auto syphon.. Also I was wondering although you can drink this wine right after bottling will it see any improvement with aging in a bottle??