Fermentation temperature

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimK

Reaction score
I was wondering if I could get some insight into my fermentation that is happening. My concern is that I am 2 and a half days in after I pitched my yeast and caps are forming and it looks like things are happening but my temperature is at 63 degrees (thermometer in the must). I figured by now it would be very active and there would be a bit of warmth on the bucket. This is my first time with must and I am going off of the MoreWine red wine manual. The stats are:
5 gallon Frozen red must (Malbec) thawed by Saturday pitched yeast on Sunday and working in my basement (65 degrees roughly).
Brix 25.2
TA .8%
pH 3.59
Added lallzyme. .5g and opti red 5g,
-waited 7 hours
6.2g Go ferm with 5g of BDX yeast
Waited 15 minutes and added some must to lower temp of goferm/yeast before pitching.
(Meanwhile added in FT rouge and a couple oak cubes to the must)
After 20 minutes and adding a little more must, goferm/yeast/must at 71 degrees and then was pitched into bucket.
Bucket must was at 58 degrees at the time.
1 and a half days later Added 5g of Fermain K
Caps are forming and I am punching down 3 times a day.
So I am wondering what is wrong, if anything.

Thanks for the help.
Peace

TimK

I don't think anything is wrong. Must was a little cool when you started, but seems to be fine, since you have cap forming. You may only get into the low 70's. And that peak won't hit until 3 or 4 days in, sometimes.

I agree, Your fermentation is still in the early stages (to the left side of the population curve). You should begin to see the temperature start to rise any time now.

Thanks for the encouragement!! I wasn't sure if the yeast was struggling or something. I didn't want to be finished before I started.