Enhancing Minerality, Vegetal, Earthy & Chalky Components in Red Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cocroach

Reaction score
I am by no means a wine expert and have always struggled with trying to identify the flavours of any wines, however; I recently tasted two commercial red wines, which had flavours so pronounced that even a newbie like me could taste them.

These two wines were a 2009 Duoro from Portugal and a 2004 Cabernet Franc from France, which seemed to have had strong minerality (earthy wet rock/slate), green vegetable (broccoli/green pepper), earthy (soil) and chalky (literally like eating a piece of chalk) components. These were a complete departure from the big bold fruity wines I have typically gone for.

Does anyone know if there are any red wine kits out there that would have any of these components, or are there any tweaks that I can do to produce/enhance these flavours (using different yeast strains, additives, etc.) with any of the kits I currently have.

I tend to prefer the higher-end kits with a lot of body and mouth-feel like RJS Winery Series, CellarCraft Showcase and Mosti Mondiale. I’m still pretty new to wine-making and have not tried any other brands, yet, but would be open to.

So far I’ve made: CC Amarone, MM Barolo, RJS Rosso Excellente. In primary: RJS RQ Italy Nero D’Avola, RJS WS Amarone. Not yet started: RJS Winery Series Spanish Tempranillo, RJS En Primeur Super Tuscan, RJS RQ Monastrell-Petit Verdot.

Any thoughts/advice would be helpful.

Last edited:
I have a few disjointed thoughts.

Lalvin suggests that RP15 may enhance minerality. I can't say that I know this to be the case.