Critique My Equipment List and Kits

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I3igDmsu

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to wine making and have done some research to put together everything I need to make my first two batches. Below is my equipment list and kits that I have chosen to start with. Please critique anything you see that is overkill or I may need to do these two (almost concurrently).

Kits:
*Winexpert Mezza Luna Red (done in 3-9mo, order from southern homebrew (***))
*RJS Winery Series Super Tuscan (done in 1.5-2+ yrs, order from ***)
I was hoping to start with the Mezza Luna first because it will be done much sooner. After fermentation and transferring the Mezza to the BetterBottle, I was planning on using the bucket to start fermenting the Super Tuscan. I'm trying to minimize the amount of equipment I am buying right now.

Equipment:
*FineVineWines Beginner Wine Package w Plastic Carboy (http://www.finevinewines.com/XPListDet9B.asp?MM_PartNumber=1009A
)
*Extra 6 gal BetterBottle
*Extra 30 corks
*Extra airlock
*Extra bung for BetterBottle
*1 lb of Potassium Metabisulfate (for sanitizing bottles and corks)
*4 oz of iodophor (for sanitizing fermenter, airlocks, bungs, other equip)
*Brewer's Belt (to maintain 75 degrees during fermentation in bucket as I am planning on doing everything in my basement (probably 60-65* during this time of year))

Thanks all for the help. I am planning on ordering asap so please let me know any changes to equipment/kits/etc!

Not sure why you are getting two sanitizers. Personally I use iodophor for everything.

I would suggest getting a couple of extra hydrometers, they are quite breakable.

Suggest floor corker instead of hand corker.