considering altering a recipe for Apple Ale...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewgrrrl

Reaction score
Okay, I finally have some time to brew and I have two recipes on deck. The first is a porter (of course!). The second is one I've never done before - an apple ale that includes a gallon of cider in the must. I'm brewing from an extract recipe for time's sake, so there are some specialty grains but not a full mash. What I would like to do though is modify the recipe in an attempt to mimic the sour tartness of a lambic without the aging (because my basement is full of wine and no beer!). I'll eventually start a true lambic but this one's going to be relatively quick so that we have something to drink around here.

So I spoke with a couple people yesterday and basically the suggestions were to (1) use White Labs Belgian Wit II yeast, which ferments with a sour character (2) add some sour malt to the specialty grains, and (3) add lactic acid to taste at bottling.

Any other thoughts on this little project of mine? Any suggestions about how much sour malt to add to a plain-ale recipe to get more of a lambic-y flavor?

Thanks!

Adding some acid malt or lactic acid will add some sour character but will not get you the other flavors that are in a Lambic. I would start with around a pound for a five gallon batch, you can always add some lactic acid at bottling time if you do not fine it sour enough.