Bulk Aging

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

axwilson18

Junior
Reaction score
I'm very new to the winemaking experience and have only made three WE kits so far - Argentine Malbec, Chilean Pinot Noir, and a Zinfandel. Its obvious that aging is very important with wine making and I've enjoyed sampling my wine as it ages. Since I only sample about once per month, I've developed an appreciation for the aging process and notice a significant change each month. Most kits state that they can be bottled in about six weeks to two months. However, instead of trying to bottle my wine in six weeks, suppose I wait six months to bottle it. Will it age in the carboy as though it was in the bottle or does the aging process begin after bottling?

AX, aging in the carboy is very exceptable. Another thing some people do when they bottle is to bottle several 375ml bottles. Then you can use these to sample how the wine is aging in the bottles without opening a 750ml bottle.

I normally (bulk) age in 6 gallon carboys. However, when I start to "sample" the fruits of my labor it creates head space in the carboys (not good). When that happens I go from the 6 gallon carboys to a five gallon carboys, then to individual 1 gallon jugs, then to 750 ml bottles until it's gone.

Wine will age slower in bulk. It will mellow and change its complexity. Different nodes will be produced. I make wine from juice buckets and bulk age one year for reds. Six months plus fruits and whites. Wines for my champagne age a year before I begin secondary fermentation.

Do as Dan mentioned. A few small bottles are great if you can stand the temptation.