Any recommendations for wine grapes for zone 6?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrittneyT2

Junior
Reaction score
I live in zone 6b and would like to grow some grapes for homemade wine. Any suggestions? Im in southwest Indiana and our summers are usually hot & humid. I'll be growing Thompson seedless for making raisins, and probably some seedless concords for fresh eating. I will probably make some wine from the concords, but would like to grow another variety that won't be as sweet. I prefer drinking cab & merlot but don't think I can grow those here. Can I make a dry red in my zone? Or will I have to settle for sweet and get used to it if I want homemade? I'm new to this and would appreciate any advise. Thank you!

I'm a bit north of you (west of Indy) and the reds that grow well for me are Marachel Foch and Oberlin Noir. I am planting Marquette this year. Perhaps you can get away with some better reds down there....but those I know down there that try French varieties (ie Pinot Noir, Cab, Merlot) still have a lot of issues keeping them going through the colder winters. There is a particular winery I will not name, put a lot of money into growing more popular varieties down there which were marginal for the zone. I was told that after 10 years they had not harvested a single grape for their investment.

IMHO it's not so much if you can do sweet vs dry red, just what variety you can do. I dry mine out, I just can't grow the popular dry red varieties. There are some hybrid reds which make decent dry red table wines.