Added too much Potassium Meta Bi sulfate in Must

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BooCho

Junior
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to making wine from grapes. I have made wine from juice from vineyards prior. I was able to pick enough Mourvedre grapes this past weekend to make a 5 gal must. I miss understood an on line post saying to add 1tsp of sulfates per 5 gal wine must. I added 5 tsp of pottasium meta bi sulfate to a 5 gal wine must. I have read about splashing to remove the extra sulfates...but i am wondering if this overdosing is too much to remove from the wine must. Any thoughts on how to rescue?

Hello! I am new to making wine from grapes. I have made wine from juice from vineyards prior. I was able to pick enough Mourvedre grapes this past weekend to make a 5 gal must. I miss understood an on line post saying to add 1tsp of sulfates per 5 gal wine must. I added 5 tsp of pottasium meta bi sulfate to a 5 gal wine must. I have read about splashing to remove the extra sulfates...but i am wondering if this overdosing is too much to remove from the wine must. Any thoughts on how to rescue?

I just measured a tsp of K-meta and it turned out to be 6.5 grams. 5 times that would give you 32.5 grams making the resulting free SO2 1000 ppm or 20.00 molecular. That's a lot of sulfite and I'm not sure splash racking can get it low enough. Hopefully someone else can chime in.

I just measured a tsp of K-meta and it turned out to be 6.5 grams. 5 times that would give you 32.5 grams making the resulting free SO2 1000 ppm or 20.00 molecular. That's a lot of sulfite and I'm not sure splash racking can get it low enough. Hopefully someone else can chime in.