Zinfandel syrah blend

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulie vino

Reaction score
I'm thinking of making a zinfandel syrah blend. I don't make much in terms of quantity so I'll probably buy 2 lugs of zinfandel and one syrah and ferment together. I'm looking for opinions on what is most frequently done with these wines from an oak perspective. Do most commercial producers oak zinfandel and if so is American oak more commonly used? Looking for suggestions for the upcoming season. I'm a relative newbie to all of this still. Thanks in advance

You need 2 types of oak -- fermentation and aging.

For fermentation, use shreds or chips, as it has more surface area which works better in the short fermentation period. This oak helps with color retention and the preservation of grape tannin over oak tannin. It doesn't matter what type of oak is used since it doesn't contribute flavor, although American is typically cheaper.

For aging? It's most common to use American oak (cubes, spirals, or staves) with Zinfandel, and since you're planning a 2:1 ratio, it makes sense to use American. However, if you use Hungarian or French, you'll still get a good result, so there are no wrong answers.

Thanks, I have ft rouge which I will use for the fermentation. I was thinking more about post fermentation, I have a wine stix of French oak and ordered one of American oak, so I have both options available. Probably leaning towards American based on other things I've read and your opinion.

How much FT Rouge do you use? I've been looking at that product and considering it. The Scott docs say 20 to 50 g/hL, and going by 1 lug (36 lbs) is 14.8 liters, that's a range of 3.0 to 7.4 g/lug.