Wine smell.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

koolaide187

Reaction score
I have been drinking wine for a while now and making wine for about a little over a year. I would still say I am new to making wine and all. My question is to anybody who might know what I am talking about. Before actually making wine I never smelled it but ever since I started making wine. I always smell this kind of off smell almost musty in every wine I buy from the store or make myself. Does anybody else smell this? I mean I do smell the wine itself but I also smell a hint of the musty type smell in every wine i've ever come across more so in home made wine that I make or my friends make. If anybody knows what I am talking about is there a name for that smell? It's not so terrible I wouldn't want to drink the wine. I mean I love the taste of wine no matter how strong that smell is.

That's an interesting situation. I have never heard of it, but maybe others have.

Normally, when a wine smells really musty, it is because the wine is "corked". A corked wine it one that has a compound present called TCA. The wine smells like wet cardboard. For home wine makers, this condition is generally caused by the wine coming into contact with chlorine, as in chlorine bleach. That's why chlorine bleach has no place in the home wine making environment.

In your case, since all wine smells musty, I haven't a clue.

:D I know it's strange sounding but I only started smelling it after I starting making my own wine. Now I smell it in every wine. I've never used bleach or chlorine to clean my carboys/equipment.