Wine life

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jerry

Reaction score
I'm sure this was asked before, I couldn't find anything on the life of a bottle of wine after being bottled. I was told that after two years the wine starts to break down. So the answer I got was two years. If it makes a difference I always use a # 9 1 3/4 agglomerot cork .

What is your wine and when was it bottled?? Im as confused as you on this point. I was always told you should be drinking your parents wine and you should be saving your wine for your children. Then I got here and read reality!! Im confused. Im still learning too!

It's a little more complex than most really care for, but a lot of it comes down to how the wine is made..

Every batch is different, because of the different levels of flavor, alcohol, acidity, sweetness, tannins.. We strive to balance these different facets, but some batches, while 'balanced', are 'more' in every aspect than other wines (the ones with intense flavor make the best long-lived wines, imo).

Even though we may find a balance, and bottle the wine.. It's not truly done aging until you've opened a few bottles (spread usually month after month) and the just-opened bottle tastes like the last bottle did - and it's what you'd expect from that bottle. When you repeat that process a few times in a row, its safe to assume the wine is done aging.

From that point, however old it is, it's 'safe to assume' that the wine will keep for that-much longer.. So I opened my Peach at 18 months, and it was done aging, so I assumed that it would be alright until it was 3 years... It's now over 3 years old, and still decent