WineXpert Wine Expert Cabernet Sauvignon instructions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steven Glass

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine kits since 1995, but the instructions from Wine Experts is a bit confusing. They have a 4-6-8 week racking instruction that has the same specific gravity with different weeks listed. Is it the wine makers choice on when to rack, or should I wait until week 8 to rack and then two days to bottle. I also filter my wine, and always make sure that the wines are very clear before even thinking about filtering and bottling. Thanks to all who reply !!!🍷

The box label should indicate whether it's a 4, 6, or 8 week wine kit.

That being said, to paraphrase @winemaker81 's words of wisdom, the kit instruction timelines are minimums. Once the sg is below 1.000, keeping the wine under airlock with minimal headspace is more important than exact timing between rackings, although generally you want to rack off the gross lees within 2 or 3 weeks.

My process is to ferment in a bucket covered by a towel to allow the yeastie beasties the oxygen they need at the beginning of the process. Once the sg is about 1.000 or below (usually 10-14 days after fermentation began), I rack to a carboy with minimal headspace and an airlock. 2 to 3 weeks later, I rack off the gross lees, topping off or downsizing the carboy to minimize headspace. After that, I have been bulk aging some of my kit wines (adding kmeta every 3 months) and bottling some according to the kit schedules, if the wine is clear.

Last edited:
I was going to wait, take samples and if clear enough rack the wine and wait 2 more weeks to make sure it had finished. Thanks for the input it was greatly appreciated.