Whole process of Merlot Grapes to wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

111jag

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to wine making from grapes. My dad is old school and says he knows everything. So this is what I have done. I bought 18 cases of Californian Merlot grapes a few weeks ago. I got the place I bought them at to destem them. I took the must home and put it into 2 big barrels (200 litres). I pressed down the skins twice a day for 6 days. Then I squished the skins and put the juice in 3 demijons. I have not added anything to the juice yet. It has been bubbling at 20 degrees for about a week and a half. My father said I should rack the wine around December and to not touch it until then. Is this true? I have read I should have racked one or two days after transfering it to the demijons? Should I add anything to the demijons? Any suggestions for making good wine would be appreciated. I do own a hydrometer but have not used it yet. I am thinking of trying anything you suggest to one of the demijons to show my father that you can make better wine than they used to. I always remember my dads wine being bitter. He said it was great. I tend to think otherwise.
Thanks,
Rob

Scroll down to the post Complete novice with a lot of grapes by Lindsey. I posted on there with fairly complete instructions. Read thru it, and ask any questions you mite have. Arne.

I would recomend that you rack (syphon the clear wine and disguard the yucky sediment) 1 to 2 weeks after your wine stops bubbling.

I would also suggest that you get an acid test kit and adjust your acid to the recomended levels.

I would also suggest that you get some k-meta and use it to sanitize your wine after racking.

There are also about a dozen other things I could suggest, but it is far too much to list here.