Riesling: Bentonite Fining

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jgareri

Reaction score
Hi all, following up on my previous thread on Riesling. The low temp and slow fermentation is almost over. I was hoping for some guidance / opinions on if/when to do a slight bentonite fining. Should I do it now given that alcoholic fermentation is done so I can rack and bulk age for 5 to 6 months or should I rack off the lees (surprisingly not a lot of lees) and then do a fining near the end of the bulk ageing (I can just rack that off one more time or bottle depending on the progress)

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

since you plan to bulk age I would let nature take it course and let the wine clear on it own.I am not a proponent on bentonite fining because of loose lees. if you do need fining I would use Super Kleer or as sold now as Durafine.

since you plan to bulk age I would let nature take it course and let the wine clear on it own.I am not a proponent on bentonite fining because of loose lees. if you do need fining I would use Super Kleer or as sold now as Durafine.

Thanks for the response. I've been reading that a lot of commercial wineries are using bentonite but haven't seen anything on the 'loose lees' that you mention. Would you be able to expand on that? I am not too much of an interventionist - perhaps my process will be to let nature do its thing for 6 months, then do a very light fining if necessary?