Port Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

prairiewine

Junior
Reaction score
I've been making wine for several years from the native fruits up here in Canada. I have alot of chokecherries this year and I am going to try making a Chokecherry Port. This will be my first attempt at a port style wine.
It seems to me that most 'purists' believe the only way to make a true port style wine is to ferment a dessert style wine until the specific gravity is about 1.030 or so, then add brandy or some other fortifying agent to stop the fermentation.

However, I see many recipes calling for a full fermentation followed by the addition of brandy and some serious sweetening afterward.

My question is: which way is better? I'd prefer to use the former approach, the latter feels like 'cheating'. However, I think the former approach leaves one open to all kinds of unknowns.

Interested to hear any thoughts on this.

Do two batches ( 3 gallon) and then you can better decide which works best for you

Either way is fine and I usually choose the later only because its hard to tell how something is going to taste when its all mixed up with yeast and the smells of fermentation.

Waldo said:
Do two batches ( 3 gallon) and then you can better decide which works best for you

That would be ideal...but I've only got enough left for a 11.5 Litre batch (pretty sure that's 3 US Gallons). I think I'll try it the 'purist' way this year, and try it the other way next year depending on the result.

wade said:
Either way is fine and I usually choose the later only because its hard to tell how something is going to taste when its all mixed up with yeast and the smells of fermentation.