Peach Bumper Crop (PA)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boatboy24

No longer a newbie, but still clueless.
Reaction score
Just forwarding some info from a member of the Washington Winemakers. If you've ever thought a bout making a peach wine, this might be a great chance with minimal investment.

"Twin Springs Fruit Farm, which is west of Gettysburg, PA has a serious surplus of the best peaches in the East. I have been eating their fruit and produce for close to 20 years.

They have a bumper crop of peaches piling up in their 34 degree warehouse and are selling them now for $5.00 a crate, which is 25-28 pounds. That's 20 cents a pound or less.

The catch is that you have to pick them up in Gettysburg.

They will have this surplus for about two more weeks from now."

Just forwarding some info from a member of the Washington Winemakers. If you've ever thought a bout making a peach wine, this might be a great chance with minimal investment.

"Twin Springs Fruit Farm, which is west of Gettysburg, PA has a serious surplus of the best peaches in the East. I have been eating their fruit and produce for close to 20 years.

They have a bumper crop of peaches piling up in their 34 degree warehouse and are selling them now for $5.00 a crate, which is 25-28 pounds. That's 20 cents a pound or less.

The catch is that you have to pick them up in Gettysburg.

They will have this surplus for about two more weeks from now."

You getting any?

WOW ! I am so jealous. Go for it folks. If you have not made a peach wine, you are missing out on a great tasting wine. The aroma the flavor etc. It takes a bit of work and time but the payoff is well well worth it. Sadly 1100 miles is too far for me to go.