Old tried and true winemaking or the "NEW"

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a complete newbie at winemaking but shant take long as I have my dad here to teach me and he is a serious winemaker - meaning he makes a lot and has done so "au natural" for many years. Only thing is, I don't like his wine, its too strong, little bitter, really heavy......

I have my remaining pulp from chokecherry syrup and previously fresh frozen mashed saskatoons in the bucket ready to become must, haven't put sugar in yet. 3 gallons approx., almost no added water.

he says chokecherry with saskatoons should make a good wine.

My dad uses nothing but sugar, added water and his testers, not sure if he even uses yeast.

Am thinking to rush out to a wine store and pick up some things, have heard about Lalvin E-118, pectin enzyme and acid blend (want to keep it organic as possible)...

But, and I want REALLY GOOD WINE!! :try ;)

will these things, or any other suggestions, make a finer wine? I picked and cleaned all those berries (my dad said to not bother fine cleaning them :p). I do want my first batch to be great!!!

Thanks guys, this community seems awesome!!

Brenda

Brenda, i have made a lot of fruit wine, but not chokecherry are saskatoons/
If you want a good wine, then buy the following.

Hydrometer
Campden Tablets
Acid Blend
Pectic Enzyme
Yeast Nutrient
Yeast Engergizer
A good wine yeast I use red star brand, lots use lalvin
If you search the internet for wine strains, charts will tell you the best yeast for various fruit, temp ranges, alcohol tolerance, etc.
I choose the pasteur red because i like a high alcohol precentage and its heat tolerant for fermentation.