oak, carboy or bottles?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dominick

Reaction score
Hi:

I was wondering what is the bestmedium to age wine in.

1. Oak Barrels (French or American)/(Bulk Age)

2. Carboy (Bulk age)

3. Bottles

I was just thinking maybe bulk aging is a better idea then bottling?
Just trying to figure the reasons as to why bulk aging would be better.

Another reason I was thinking is, I will be doing both, making wine from kits and making wine from home grown grapes.

I was thinking maybe instead of bottling up my natural grapes to throw that juice in a barrel and keep adding more juice as the years go by to fill a big barrel of my natural wine from the grapes I grow. - The bad idea of this is I think I need to fill the barrel to the TOP in one shot, and not to fill it little by little. (I'm new to this so still learning)

For the kit wine, I think depending on the variety I got which peaks in 2 years is to bulk age the winekit juicein the carboy for 8/9months and then bottle it and let the bottle age for another 8/9months before trying it out. -

Thanks

PS: Where do you guys/gals pick up some good solid oak barrels for cheap in the states?

I see the america oak is under 300$ for 20Liter, but the 20Liter French oak Barrel is like $500+ (toasted Med+)

thnx-Edited by: Dominick

Dominick,

Here's a website for some great barrels and very affordable prices: http://www.vadaiwinebarrels.com/index.asp