My wine stopped bubbling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdagner

Junior
Reaction score
I have made some Muscadine/scuppernong wine. I have had it in the carboy for about 2 weeks now and it has been bubbling away through my airlock. I went down and looked at it yesterday and it has stopped bubbling. It is not clear yet, it is still a little murky, cant see through it, and there is a lot of gunk at the bottom of the bottle. I have about 4.5 gallons. I did add sugar to it, as well as winemaking yeast. I think I added about 6 pounds of sugar. Is it time to start botttling? or do I need to wait longer before doing that? I have been searching online and have come up with mixed things to do. I hope yall can give me some good advice. I am new to this, but would like to continue it if I can figure it out well.

tdagner, did you take an initial SG reading? What is the SG at present? It may be that your wine has fermented to dry (i.e. SG is in the 0.992-0.995 range or so) and there will be no more fermentation. Do not bottle wine that is not clear. The murkiness that you see is suspended particles in the wine and if you bottle the wine, they will be in the bottle forever. You can allow the wine to clear on its own by keeping it in the carboy, under airlock and letting the particles settle to the bottom and then rack the clear wine off the top into another carboy. You can help the clearing activity by employing fining agents, e.g. kieselsol and chitosan.​

Welcome to the forum.

Making the type of wine you are making probably started with someones home-grown recipe. Those can turn out pretty good in most cases.

There are some pretty well established methods for successfully making wine these days. It would be good for you to maybe read up on them as it takes some of the drama out of wine making.