Lots of not so good wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adame

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to wine making and am taking on a very large project. I bought a house last spring with a 2 acre vineyard not knowing anything about growing grapes or wine making. I grew the grapes and everything went well but my wine isn't turning out that well. My first problem was the grapes where picked too early and the acid was high. I adjusted the acid lower by adding water and sugar. Now my wine has been clarifying for 4+ months and it does not taste very good. It is sour, tart, bitter would be words I would use to describe it? It is also kind of watered down? Is there any corrections I can make before bottling? It is clarifying very well and doesn't seem to have any major problems just doesn't taste good. Even after sweetening some it's doesn't taste good.

Marechal Foch grapes
Original Brix 20-22

Adjusted levels prior to primary fermentation
I used accuvin test strips, my TA 6.5-7 range
My SG - 1.105 (seams pretty high to me but that's what I was advised to do)

Do you know what the previous wine maker did with the grapes? Did he make wine or something else? Also, what variety of grape do you have?

Adame,

You lucky dog! I know most folks here would give their {insert name of body part here} to own such a place.

To lower acid, what you ended up doing was to dilute your must. It would have been much better to use K-bicarb to lower the acid content of your wine. By adding water, you end up also diluting the flavor of the wine. Most winemakers work to concentrate flavors and not dilute them.