WineXpert Just starting...Merlot suggestions?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ljcjd

Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to this. I was at a wine tasting and met some people who have been making wine for several years with amazing results. I enjoy wine and thought I'd give it a try. They purchase oak/vintage equipment and I didn't see any listed here. I'm about to make my preliminary purchases and wonder what you "pros" suggest. I'm willing to make a substantial investment of time in the process and want to invest for the long term. Any suggestions? Thanks

Welcome to the forum and glad I was able to get you started. Remember, if you have any questions along the way, you can:

1. Call me,

2. Send me an email, or

3. Post your question here.

However you choose, we will all be ready to assist you in your new hobby.

Welcome to the forum. Your question regarding Merlot is quite a coincidence. On October 3, 2004 I bottled the Winexpert Selection Merlot and this evening I opened two bottles. My friends commented that it tasted as good as $20 a bottle Merlot. I would have to take their word since I don’t buy $20 a bottle Merlot. It was certainly better than the $8-10 that I do spend and I do expect it to get even better with time. On February 20 of this year I started the Winexpert Estate Stags Leap Merlot and have great hopes for this.<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

In general, kits containing more juice (15+ liters) will make a better wine. However, taste and therefore recommendations are very subjective. I may settle on one of these two kits as being “my” Merlot or I may try another kit manufacturer. Until I have made them all, I will never know which one is best.