How do you know?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
How do you calculate a recipe for making at home?
Example:How would you know how much juice needed for making wine in a 1 gallon carboy/jug?
Sorry, i'm new to this wine making process.
How exactly do you know how much of what you need to make 1 gallon or 5 gallons of wine?

Last edited:
Use 100% juice, use a hydrometer to tell you how much sugar is in it and so how much to add and an acid titration kit to tell you if you need to adjust the acidity are the basic tools you need to get started. WVMJ

As a start, go to the recipes of this forum. That will give you a feel for the recipes.

If you are just getting started I am not certain that you need the finesse of acid titration kits. Your taste can tell you if you need to adjust the "recipe" to make it more or less acidic (to give it more "bite") but you need 1 gallon to make a gallon and 5 gallons to make five. In fact you may need slightly more than those volumes as you will lose some liquid to sediment (lees). For example, if you are making mango or apricot wine, you might ferment a gallon but when you rack (siphon) the wine from the primary fermenting bucket into a carboy you might find that about 1/3 of the original volume is composed of sediment.