Homemade toasted oak results

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wood1954

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Having plenty of 3 year old air dried white oak boards I decided to try toasting my own sticks. I made several 1/2”x1/2”x15” sticks and toasted them at 330 degrees for two hours. Made the house smell like baking vanilla cookies. Looks like a medium toast level. I’m hoping for some vanilla in my wine and some tannin as well. I’ll find out in 6 weeks.

I am very interested in the outcomes here… I’ve added the post to my watch list.

As a fellow woodworker I have to a ask. Have you ever considered building a barrel? I have looked into coopering in the past and I would love to take a coopering class if I could find one.

I am very interested in the outcomes here… I’ve added the post to my watch list.

As a fellow woodworker I have to a ask. Have you ever considered building a barrel? I have looked into coopering in the past and I would love to take a coopering class if I could find one.
I consider myself a bit of a woodworker as well and looked into coopering a barrel. I can't imagine how long it would take without the specialty tools and equipment so I swallowed my pride and bagged the idea.

I consider myself a bit of a woodworker as well and looked into coopering a barrel. I can't imagine how long it would take without the specialty tools and equipment so I swallowed my pride and bagged the idea.
Coopering would be hard, not something I would try. I think next time I’ll make 1/2” cubes, more surface area that way and I have a lot of aged white oak.