Quantcast

Hello from New Brunswick!

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

Abby

Reaction score
I am a relative newbie to wine making, as I only started last fall. Thus far, my wine making has been limited to kits.

This hobby, though, is becoming highly addictive. I started off with the bare minimum of equipment - one primary, one carboy, hydrometer, J tube, hose, wine thief, bottle filler and "butterfly" corker.

My first attempt at bottling, with the hand corker, combined with a stubborn cork, a slippery floor, and my own impatience wound up with a scene reminiscent of the three stooges. I would up going head first into a peg board (which fortunately was not damaged) and in a day or so, the dizzy spells went away.

I now have a floor model.

I acquired a second carboy so I could have two batches on the go. And now, a third one is looking pretty good.

And to think I used to do cross stitch.

Abby

smurfe

Reaction score
Welcome. Glad you didn't have any Wine Making permanent injuries. What kind of kits have you made?

Smurfe :)

Abby

Reaction score
Welcome. Glad you didn't have any Wine Making permanent injuries. What kind of kits have you made?

Smurfe :)
Thanks for the welcome!

My first attempt was a very low end kit (I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a kit before I got the hang of it) Argentia Pinot Grigio. Due to a fortuitous accident (there seems to be a theme going on here) I managed to stretch a 4 week kit into 3 months. The end result was a "vin" that was pretty "ordinaire", but more drinkable than I thought it would be given the calibre of the kit. This was followed by a chianti of by the same company and again with reasonable results.