Quantcast

Grape Crusher - Motor shaft conversion

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

GreenEnvy22

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2015
Messages
483
Reaction score
645
Location
Niagara Region, Canada
I've got a couple grape crushers, just the manual hopper with a single spiked roller in the middle. I'd like to electrify one of them because I usually crush alone, and it would be a lot faster to have it running all the time.
I've got a 24V, 250W DC motor, and a speed controller.The motor is designed for scooters, so should have the torque needed. One of my crushers has a v-pulley on it. The motor has an 11-tooth sprocket on it. It's a D-shaft, 8mm. The crusher is a much larger shaft, maybe 5/8 or 3/4".

Any suggestions on how to get these two to link up? I'd prefer to convert the motor to a pulley, as don't want a chain/sprockets near my fingers. I'm just not sure where to find a pulley I can use on my motor, 8mm is not a standard size for pulleys.
 

ibglowin

Moderator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Jul 7, 2009
Messages
21,895
Reaction score
13,257
Location
Northern Nuevo Mexico
A close friend of mine wanted a DIY project and he was able to source a like new treadmill motor from the local dump. He made a mount for the motor (with cotter key pin removal) and added a rheostat switch to control the speed. A serpentine belt and pulley as well. It has handled everything I could throw in the bin without any problems.

1596847789345.jpeg
 

sour_grapes

Victim of the Invasion of the Avatar Snatchers
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
11,298
Reaction score
9,316
Location
near Milwaukee
I've got a couple grape crushers, just the manual hopper with a single spiked roller in the middle. I'd like to electrify one of them because I usually crush alone, and it would be a lot faster to have it running all the time.
I've got a 24V, 250W DC motor, and a speed controller.The motor is designed for scooters, so should have the torque needed. One of my crushers has a v-pulley on it. The motor has an 11-tooth sprocket on it. It's a D-shaft, 8mm. The crusher is a much larger shaft, maybe 5/8 or 3/4".

Any suggestions on how to get these two to link up? I'd prefer to convert the motor to a pulley, as don't want a chain/sprockets near my fingers. I'm just not sure where to find a pulley I can use on my motor, 8mm is not a standard size for pulleys.
8 mm is essentially 5/16" (i.e., within 0.040"). McMaster-Carr (mcmaster.com) has V-belt pulleys with 5/16" shafts.
 

salcoco

Veteran Wine Maker
WMT Supporter
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
2,806
Reaction score
1,112
Location
Kansas
Grange supply should also have pull's with right diameter
 

stickman

Veteran Winemaker
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
1,596
Reaction score
1,452
On my unit I used a bronze sleeve bearing to reduce the pulley shaft diameter to the proper size. Bronze is soft, so it's easy to drill the set screw hole and ream out a bit if needed to fit the motor shaft.
 

GreenEnvy22

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2015
Messages
483
Reaction score
645
Location
Niagara Region, Canada
I got some parts at 'princess auto', sort of a Canadian harbor freight. Found a sleeve that had 8mm inside diameter, 1/2" outside (probably 12mm, but it fit with some help). Not bad for $8.
I did a quick test, it works but a non-ripe apple from my tree stopped it. the power supply is only 2A at 24V, so I'll grab another one (motor and controller can both handle 10A). I'll build a little box for the electronics to live in.IMG_20200808_190453.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

stickman

Veteran Winemaker
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
1,596
Reaction score
1,452
Another option is to increase the size of the pulley on the crusher shaft to get higher torque and reduced speed. Mine has a 12"dia pulley.
 

GreenEnvy22

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2015
Messages
483
Reaction score
645
Location
Niagara Region, Canada
This worked fine for crushing my grapes, I don't think it would handle anything much denser than grapes though, I would definitely need a bigger power supply than the 3 amp power supply I have hooked up to it now. The controller and motor themselves are rated for 10 amps, so I think it's just the power supply being the issue.
I built a lottle box to house the electronics, will paint it to match.
 
Top