Getting my first plants

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucky_lefty

Reaction score
I am going to grow Marquette grapes, I live in norther IL and I think I have done my homework, I have been reading and looking up information for a few months. there is only one thing I am not sure of and that is the trellis system to use in my backyard. I only have 14 plants on the way so its not going to be a big production but just enough for me.

Also I would like to add I am doing the trellis by hand I have no machines so I would like advice on something that can be done in a day or 2. I plan on getting the sod cutter saturday, and starting it then.

hanks Dan

For an absolute beginner with your 9x6 foot spacing (9 foot between rows-6 feet between vines), I would go with a top wire cordon. While I find they bear heavier with my modified GDC, it is trickier to establish. The TWC bears well and is easy to maintain. If you do a search for it online you can find a basic way to build the trellis. Basically you have end posts with some type of anchor and line posts for every few vines. Then you can set either 2 wires at 3 and 6 feet high or 3 wires at 2,4,6 feet. This year set a piece of bamboo or even a 2x2 next to each vine and train up that. Tie the stake to the wires. Eventually the vine gets to the top wire, where you train a single shoot both sides of the trunk (year 2 or 3 depending on your growth) Then you let the shoots growing off those cordons(shoots tied to the wires) drop down towards the ground leaving the grapes about 5 feet off the ground for easy picking.If you go to my website and click the research tab, I have some information on trellising types including TWC in there. There are a few pictures of of TWC in pictorial form and actual ones. You can also check out my thread on different ways to prune http://www.winem