Dumping some wine, maybe

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

milbrosa

Reaction score
I have about 60 bottles of wine left from three different kits that I'm considering just dumping. I mean, uncork them and pour them down the drain. I could use the bottles and the space they occupy for better wines.

I'm not very good at describing wine faults. Two of them seem harsh, perhaps acetic (almost like a vinegar smell, but not as sharp). They are thin, lacking in body and mouthfeel, but I wouldn't go so far as to call them abjectly hollow. The third one is unquestionably hollow, and is also somewhat harsh.

It is sad to contemplate dumping 60 bottles of wine, but they are really not very good wines and I get little pleasure from drinking them.

Has anyone else been faced with such a melancholy and dolorous decision? I can barely stand the thought of spilling so much wine, but I can't think of anything else to do with them.

mlbrosa:

Just being nosy here....what kits was this wine made from?

UPDATE: I've gone from being nosy, to being <I don't know what>. :i

How do you expect me to answer your question when you haven't provided any data?

Kit brand? Kit variety? Be exact!!

Final sg? Did you do anything not in the instructions? Did you use glass carboys?

When were the kits started? bottled?

Is the wine properly degassed? Have you allowed the wine to breathe for a couple of hours before drinking? Have you done anything to try to identify the faults?

Any other questions you feel like answering?

Steve

Last edited: