Digital Refractometer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

psenechal

Junior
Reaction score
Thinking about investing in a digital refractometer, either the Hanna or the Milwaukee. Wondering if anyone has any experience with either of these and/or a recommendation?

I have no experience with any refractometer due to the following.

Unless you are measuring the Brix content in the field, a refractometer isn't as useful a tool as one might assume. If you try to use it after fermentation has started, you need to refer to a spreadsheet (web site) for a correction to the measured value. A hydrometer provides the simplest way to track your fermentation progress.

I disagree. granted it is useful to determine the brix of grapes and to determiine harvest. it flexibility in having to use only one drop to determine brixc make it a handy tool in fermentation as well. used duriing fermentation it determine the must is fermeting and thje sg is reducing once it reaches the end use the hydrometer for a final accurate reading. if desired the spreadsheet correction can be dopwnloaded to your computaer and entries used to determine correction become part of your record . With experience the spreadsheet will not be necesary to determine the actual value until the end of fermetnation. Either of the units metioned should be satifactory