Clumps

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CowboyPhil

Reaction score
I am making a strawberry wine (I am a beginner) and made a must, added the chemicals and campden. Let it sit 24 hours, then added yeast. I got home tonight and it had a very thick foam on it and the straining bag was inflated. I stirred the wine, degassing it as it had tons of gas, and then I got the following result, these clumps seem like they may dissolve if I stirred it enough but not sure if there is something bad going on.

20110927_191309_Clumps.jpg

Its too early tobe degassing. You should be punching down your bag three times a day and stir up that yeast on the bottom mixing in some oxygen.

Ok wrong term, I wasn't trying to de-gas it I was trying to mix up those clumps, LOL. I can mix it twice a day but I have a job and the 3rd time is not gonna happen. That was taken a few hours ago. I just happened to notice that when I was mixing the wine it had a ton of gas, like a fizzy drink. I wasn't trying to get all that out. . . yet at least.

by punching down do you mean getting all the gas out of the staining bag. I never know what people mean by that.

Basically just submerge it in the must a few times and also get the paddle down towards the bottom to get the yeast up in the must.

OK, well it may look like a lot of wine but really I have just 1 gallon in that 6 gallon bucket. I wanted to try my hand at a non-kit wine before doing a whole 6-gallons, I did that with some watermelon wine and way too overipe (almost bad) fruit and not enough knowledge made for some of the worst stuff I have ever put in my mouth.