Christmas Rumtopf

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MedPretzel

Reaction score
A german tradition that I give as gifts to neighbors and friends. It's for every bottle of rum, 3-5 pounds of fruit, 5 pounds of sugar. I ended up filling my 2-gallon glass jar this year with the goodies.

Here's the label. hehehe, I'm not that good with photo-editing as Waldo... But he was my inspiration!

2005-12-15_180212_Christmas_Rumtopf.jpg

Original photo:

2005-12-16_114702_AustrianMan&Woman.jpg
Edited by: MedPretzel

My husband would rather be dead than caught in Lederhosen.
smiley36.gif
When he saw the picture he laughed about 5 minutes and said, "My family can never see this".....

We look creepy, I think.

M.

Oh, here's the recipe;

CJJ Berry's recipe, p. 165ish.

"All you need is a capacious glazed earthenware jar with a heavy, well-fitting lid, or some such container. Mine hols just over a gallon.

The idea is to use a mixture of soft fruits as they come in season, and the basic "recipe" is a pound of fruit, half a pound of sugar, and cover it a finger's width with Jamaica rum. In our rumpot we use blackcurrants, red-currants, strawberries, black cherries, peaches, blackberries and plums, and one and a half bottles of rum. It scents the whole kitchen when the lid is lifted, an as for the taste...!

This is the way to pack summer into your pot.

Start with strawberries, the first fruit of the summer. Wash the fruits and let dry. Place the fruit in a dish and add sugar, the quanitiy should be half the weight of the fruit. Leave it for a full hour so the sugar is well-absorbed and the flavor extracted...."