RJ Spagnols Weak Taste! Still early...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thomas

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to wine making. I started a Grand Cru International Washington Merlot 5 week kit on May 18. I followed the instructions carefully.

Its day 21 now and I finished racking and stabilizing a few days ago since SG was 0.966.

I tasted the wine yesterday and while it appeared nice and clear, smelled great, it tasted very light and unsatisfying :s

I know that patience is everything in this craft. Will my wine improve to something decent? Should I consider adding acid blend to perk up the taste?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to wine making. I started a Grand Cru International Washington Merlot 5 week kit on May 18. I followed the instructions carefully.

Its day 21 now and I finished racking and stabilizing a few days ago since SG was 0.966.

I tasted the wine yesterday and while it appeared nice and clear, smelled great, it tasted very light and unsatisfying :s

I know that patience is everything in this craft. Will my wine improve to something decent? Should I consider adding acid blend to perk up the taste?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Welcome to the forum Thomas!
Your kit is a 5 week kit but that really does not mean it's ready to consume at 5 weeks. you are at 21 days on a Merlot. In my opinion, it should be ready to bottle say in about 49 more weeks. You simply cannot judge a red wine in only 3 weeks. Give it another 6 months and if you feel its lacking, a little tartaric acid could brighten it up some.

Welcome to the forum!