primary size

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StBlGT

Reaction score
Hello all. I am just starting out and have a primary fermenter at 6.5gal. My question is, if i decide to make a wine kit with grape skins, will this size be enough? Or should i get a 7.9gal fermenter?

If you want to add a lug of crushed grapes to a kit, the Cheapest way to go is two 6.5 gal buckets, then split the fermentation in half once you finish adding water to the juice concentrate. This will give you enough room to form and punch down a cap.

Way to small. Do a search on the web. Look for brute trash cans and find out which ones are food grade. They sell them at Home Depot I forget which colors are food grade. That is what you look up.

I don't want to add any more grapes/skins, just what is supplied. I am looking at making the 12L rjs grand cru international washington merlot or australian cab kit. I thought a 7.9gal would be enough room for fermentation, no?

If the kit is 12 liters total size then yes. 12 liters is just over 3 gal in size

Thanks TonyR...i appreciate it! Just out of curiosity, would the 6.5gal be too small, or do i definitely need a 7.9gal? I don't want it to bubble over or anything.

From my experience... You'll want at least a 7.5 gallon primary bucket. Even with that you'll be near the top once you add your skins and you'll need to be careful when stirring and such. For some kits with skins and dextrose mixture to be added on top of the 6 gallons of must you'll want to do your fermentation in something like the 10 gallon Brute bucket.

Good luck!

I like bigger buckets that way when I stir the must every day I don't spill it all over the place. And yes you have to stir it good at least once a day while it is fermenting

Thanks for the responses everyone! It helped me out a lot!