Primary Fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevelaz

Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new to wine making and this will be my second year at this. Im doing a Chilean Merlot soon. My question right now is what to use for primary fermentation this time. Last year i only did a 6 gallon batch but this year im getting 3, 6 gallon buckets, 18 gallons.

My initial idea for primary was to use a 15 gallon demijohn( that was given to me to use) for 12 gallons and a 7.9 gallon bucket that i already have for the other 6 gallon bucket. After the primary i am going to use the demijohn and a 3 gallon better bottle that i have.

I was thinking maybe the demijohn is not good for the primary due to the narrow opening. And also that maybe id be better off doing the primary in one full batch instead of splitting it up.

I cannot find any primary pail other than 20 gallon or 32 gallon. I was going to get the brute cans from home depot. I tested it out using 2 that i have for garbage and the 20 gallon is way to small since the liquid goes pretty much up to the top. The 32 seems to big as the liquid is about 10 or 11 inches below the top, but then again that shouldn't matter since air contact is not a factor during primary fermentation.. Any comments would be appreciated...

Should I stick with my original plan and split it up using the demijohn and bucket, or do it in one batch using the 32 gallon. Thanks...

Actually the 32 gallon brute is seems to be just the right size. I would not worry about 10-11 inches. Even if it is less than half full, it would work fine. During primary fermentation you are actively producing a lot of CO2 so the wine is protected enough. The amount of head space in your primary makes no difference.